President Faure receives Special Envoy from Norway

The President of the Republic of Seychelles, Mr Danny Faure, received a Special Envoy from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Norway, Ambassador Odd-Inge Kvalheim, at State House yesterday.

Ambassador Odd-Inge Kvalheim is in Seychelles to review the relationship between Seychelles and Norway and explore prospective opportunities for cooperation.

President Faure welcomed him to Seychelles and said that he is certain their cooperation would be fruitful, with both countries focused on working for the betterment of citizens.

Ambassador Kvalheim delivered personal greetings from the Norwegian Prime Minister, Mrs Erna Solberg, and further discussed issues of common interest to both Seychelles and Norway; in areas such as the blue economy, climate change and renewable energy.

The Head of State reaffirmed Seychelles' strong commitment to partner with Norway and highlighted that Seychelles will continue to be a firm advocate for the Blue Economy, the vulnerabilities of Small Island Developing States (SIDS), and their need for specific developmental mechanisms to address core challenges such as climate change.

He further stated Seychelles' gratitude and that of other Small Island Developing States for PROBLUE, an initiative of the Kingdom of Norway in partnership the World Bank. This was announced following the 2018 G7 Summit hosted by Canada last year, and is a new Multi-Donor Trust Fund (MDTF) housed at the World Bank that supports healthy and productive oceans.

President Faure noted that through the support of a well-experienced partner like Norway, Seychelles can implement various important projects in different sectors, for the mutual benefit of the two countries.

Also present at the meeting at State House was the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and The Blue Economy, Ambassador Barry Faure, Honorary Consul for Norway in Seychelles, Mr Chrystold Chetty, and Second Secretary in the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ms Zenab Kante.

Source: State House, Office of the President of the Seychelles